If you are under the age of 21, you account for less than 10% of licensed drivers in the state of Texas. However, DWI fatalities of young drivers account for about 14%. Underage drinkers are responsible for a significant number of alcohol-related auto fatalities. Death is a severe consequence for a poor decision. However, if you survive, there are harsh penalties on the books. For a first offense, you may be sentenced to jail time, fines of up to $2000 and a license suspension of up to 90 days.
Additional charges may include distributing alcohol to minors if you passengers are under 21, and possession of false ID if that is what you used to purchase the alcohol. Insurance companies may refuse to renew your policy or cancel. Some may just increase the payments for a higher risk policy that will stay in place 3-5 years.
If you or your teenager have been charged with drinking in the state of Texas, contact DWI Attorney San Antonio to discuss options for a positive outcome. Because auto crashes are the primary cause of death for teens in the United States, Texas has implemented proven strategies that have proven helpful in educating young drivers of the danger of driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Please visit http://www.DWIattorneySanAntonio.net for more information.
DWI Attorneys of San Antonio
21750 Hardy Oak Blvd #102
San Antonio, TX 78258
See the map below for directions.